Dallas Buyer’s Club: I had to eat my words today. Come to think of it, I’ve been doing that a lot lately. But from today, till I die, I will never say again that I do not like Matthew Mcconaughey. Dallas Buyers Club left me an emotional wreck. Matthew blew my mind. Here is an example of how unMatthew Mcconaughey he was in the movie that 1/2 hr into it I walked up to my colleague and asked ,”I thought Mathew is in this movie. Where is he?” He points at the guy on screen who was practically in every scene from the start of the movie and said,”Thats him.” A must watch but if you are one who is embarrassed to cry in public, a friendly advice; watch it alone behind locked doors and please have a box of tissues handy.

Belle: Amma Asante directed Belle, is an 18th century period costume drama. Visually spectacular, splendid acting from GuGu Mbatha-raw, Tom Wilkinson, Penelope Wilton ( Mrs Crawley from Downton Abbey ) Tom Felton ( Draco Malfoy ) and not to mention Miranda Richardson ( Reeta Skeeter from Harry Potter ). Most of the cast was present today on the Red Carpet except Miranda Richardson. Loved Tom Felton who continues to play the bad boy in this movie too. To see him in flesh and blood was the perfect drag-me-out-of-my- blue-mood event I needed to emerge from the inky well Dallas had shoved me in. Based on a true story, this is probably the first film in history which has a black character as the main protagonist in a British costume drama who is not a slave or a servant.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

